The tours, limited to 20 people, gives the public an opportunity to see the Carissa Mill House and see historic mining equipment returned to the Carissa Mill. During the summer of 2008, South Pass City State Historic Site reconstructed the 1929 Head Frame and Trestle. This summer, crews will install a 19-ton Ball Mill and other gold recovery equipment.
Curator of Public Programs Jon Lane will walk visitors through the complex workings of the mill and give an over view of the developments at the mine from 1870 to the late 1940s.
Reservations are required and can be made through the South Pass City State Historic Site. Please call 307-332-3684 and ask for Carissa Tour reservations. Tour times will be provided when reservations are made.
The tour is very rigorous and participants should be able to negotiate steep terrain and steep stairs. The tours are not appropriate for young children.
In 2003, the Wyoming State Legislature purchased the Carissa Mine to add to South Pass City State Historic Site. The Carissa was the main economic engine for South Pass City and operated as a functioning gold mine well in to the 1940s.
Currently, the Abandoned Mine Lands Division of the Department of Environmental Quality is stabilizing the Carissa Mine and Mill. This multi-phase project will restore one of Wyoming’s truly unique historical sites.
For more information about South Pass City State Historic Site and the Carissa Mine, please visit www.southpasscity.com.